2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008
Mission Vision History
2016-2018 2014-2016 2012-2014 2010-2012 2008-2010 2006-2008 2004-2006 2002-2004 2000-2002 1998-2000 1995-1998
General Information Article Publishing Agreement Instruction to Authors Peer Reviewers Journal Search
23rd Convention 22nd Convention 21st Convention 20th Convention 19th Convention 18th Convention 17th Convention 16th Convention 15th Convention
Show All 23rd Convention 22nd Convention 21st Convention 20th Convention 19th Convention 17th Convention

21st Annual Convention:
Current Trends and Guidelines in Pediatric Infectious Diseases

February 5-6, 2014
Crowne Plaza Galleria Manila
Click here to download Guidelines for Abstract submission
Click here to download Abstract form
Click here to download Registration form
Click here to Registration Procedures

Note: CME units for convention
PPS - 25
PMA - 80
PAFP - 24.50

Click here to download Scientific Programme


February 4, 2014


Speakers' Slide Preview

6:00pm -9:00pm Speakers' Dinner

DAY 1 - February 5, 2014

Officer of the Day: Dr. Cindy G. Ama
Voice Over: Dr. Lailanie T. Sanchez  


8:00am-8:30am OPENING CEREMONY
*National Anthem
*PPS Hymn / PIDSP Hymn
*Welcome Address Dr. Beatriz P. Quiambao
President, PIDSP
*Message Dr. Melinda M. Atienza
President, PPS
*Overview of the 21st Annual Convention Dr. Ma. Carmen B. Nievera
Over-all Chair
*Master of Ceremony Dr. Ma. Liza M. Gonzales
Secretary, PIDSP
8:30am-9:00am PLENARY LECTURE:
Highlights in Pediatric Infectious Diseases
Dr. Beatriz P. Quiambao
9:00am-9:45am *Master of Ceremony
Dr. Shabir Madhi, President, WSPID
*Ribbon Cutting
Dr. Beatriz P. Quiambao
President, PIDSP
Dr. Salvacion R. Gatchalian
Vice-President, PIDSP
Dr. Ma. Carmen B. Nievera
Over-all Chair
Dr. Gyneth Lourdes G. Bibera
Chair, Ways & Means Committee
Dr. Cynthia A. Aguirre
Chair, Commercial Exhibits
  9:45am-10:00am The Sound of Music: Infectious Diseases and Music
Dr. Heikki Peltola

  10:45am-11:15am Clueless :Fungal and Viral Skin Infections
Dr. Roberta C. Romero

Moderator: Dr. Ines Bettina Santos
11:15am-12:15pm Industry-Sponsored Plenary Luncheon A (Sanofi Pasteur)
12:15pm- 1:15pm Industry-Sponsored Plenary Luncheon B (GSK)
  Voice Over: Dr. Suzanne Ponio

1:15pm -2:00pm

Back to the Future: Emerging Viral Infections
Dr. Hetti .T. Wickramasinghe
2:00pm-2:30pm The Angry Silence: HIV: When to suspect?
Dr. Jo-Anne A. De Castro

The Wrath of Rabies
Dr. Nancy N.  Bermal

3:15pm- 4:15pm VACCINES HOUR: "Childhood Immunizations in Private Practice"
  1. 2014 Childhood Vaccine Schedule
  2. Adolescent Immunization Schedule
  3. Untangling Myths and Misconceptions

Potential Experts:
  1. Dr. Cynthia A. Aguirre
  2. Dr. Emma Llanto
  3. Dr. Hetti .T. Wickramasinghe
  4. Moderator: Dr. Ma. Liza M. Gonzales
4:15-4:45 PM Fight Club: Dengue vs Chikunguny
Dr. Salvacion R. Gatchalian
4:45-5:30 PM Fatal Attraction: Dengue CPG
Dr. Jaime A. Santos
5:30 -6:30PM Business Meeting
6:30pm PIDSP Members' Fellowship Night

DAY 2 - February 6, 2014
Officer of the Day: Dr. Edna Mallorca
Voice Over (AM): Dr. Jo Anne de Castro


Meet-the-Experts A:
The Usual SuspectsAntibiotic Use for Medical and Surgical Prophylaxis

Drs. Estrella Paje-Villar,
Benjamin G. Co, Josefina R. Almonte
Dr. Josephine Anne Ng, Moderator

Meet-the-Experts B:
The Dark Knight Rises: Atypical Respiratory Pathogens

Drs. Shabir Madhi,
Arnel Jiao
Socorro Lupisan
Dr. Ma. Rosario Capeding, Moderator

Poster Session (Oral Presentation and Judging)

9:00am-9:30am Save the Last Dance: MDG4: Where are we now?
Dr. Enrique A. Tayag
Assistant Secretary, Department of Health
9:30am-10:15am Against All Odds: Defending Vaccination
Dr. Hetti .T. Wickramasinghe
10:15am-10:30am COFFEE BREAK
10:30am-11:00am Before Sunrise & Before Sunset Immunoglobulins and Infections
Dr. Josefina C. Carlos
11:00am-11:45am The Lovely Bones: Treatment of Acute Osteomyelitis in Childhood
Dr. Heikki Peltola
Moderator: Dr. Melba Marasigan

Industry Sponsored Plenary Luncheon C (Natrapharm)

12:45pm-1:45pm Industry Sponsored Plenary Luncheon D (MSD)

Voice Over (PM): Dr. Lani Sanchez

1:45pm-2:30pm The Awakening: Bacterial Meninigitis
Dr. Cecile Maramba-Lazarte
2:30pm-3:00pm The Hunger Games: Acquiring Helminthic Infections
Dr. Vicente Belizario Jr.
3:00pm-3:330pm Bloodsuckers Malaria revisited
Dr. Fe Esperanza Caridad Espino
3:30pm-3:45pm COFFEE BREAK
3:45pm-4:15pm E.T. Extrapulmonary Tuberculosis
Dr. Carmina A. Delos Reyes
4:15pm-5:00pm The Fast and the Furious: Leptospirosis
Dr. Gyneth G. Bibera
5:00pm-5:30pm QUIZ SHOW
Quiz Master: Dr. Lester A. Deniega

*Awarding of Plaques for Major Sponsors
Closing Remarks
Dr. Salvacion R. Gatchalian
Vice-President, PIDSP

PIDSP Officers (FY 2016 - 2018)

Ma. Liza Antoinette M. Gonzales, M.D.

Anna Lisa T. Ong-Lim, M.D.

Mary Ann C. Bunyi, M.D.

Asst. Secretary
Ma. Carmen B. Nievera, M.D.

Melba V. Masigan, M.D.

Asst. Treasurer
Mary Antonette C. Madrid, M.D.

Nancy N. Bermal, M.D.